How many frames of brood going into winter?

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

honeylover

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
Hi, I'm new to beekeeping this year. Did a final check today as weather nice and temp 16 here in Yorkshire. Bees are in a national with only two frames of brood today, the rest stores. Last checked just over 2 weeks ago and there was brood over 4 frames. Couldn't find the queen or eggs today (although am still rubbish at seeing eggs unless in bright sunshine). There was lots of capped brood on the 2 frames and the bees seemed fine, not unsettled as I think they may be if queenless. Bees also still happily bringing in pollen and seem pretty busy. I'm now worried that I've overfed them (as 2 of the brood frames from last check seem to have been replaced with stores) or there's something else wrong. I have been feeding with sugar syrup 2:1 until the last time I checked them as there was still empty frame space. Any ideas?

What have you done for winter?

First you chould restrict the wintering space. if the hive had a month ago 6 frames of brood, it probably needs only 6 frames for wintering. And now those wintering frames shoul be full capped winter food.

How big was your hive in August?

Thanks for the reply. Sorry I probably wasn't clear. There are 11 frames plus dummy board in the brood box, all frames are now full but only two are brood with the remaining 9 frames choc full with stores. Is this enough brood at this time of year or have the bees filled too many frames with stores leaving not enough room for brood?

"How many frames of brood going into winter?"

there should be none. i'm not saying that is how much should be present now BUT the idea is that brood rearing essentially ceases for winter.