Hello I'm new to this forum

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

AJuff

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
None
Hello, I have been debating keeping bees for over two years now and I have finally made the decision to start. I have the support of my OH, a few interested friends and local beekeepers.

Last year I attended a day's beekeeping course and loved every minute of it. I have gone on to read a multitude of books as I find bees fascinating! I thought I would look for a more in depth bee keeping course over a number of weeks but the only ones available near me cost £220 which is rather expensive, the cost of a hive! I have joined my local beekeeping group and registered for a nuc when one becomes available. I have the support of four local beekeepers too which is wonderful.

I hope to get on a course before bees arrive but feel confident armed with knowledge from books including Ted Hooper's plus local beekeeper support to help with hive inspections. It will be a steep learning curve I know but I'm ready to start. :)

Welcome to the forum. It is a great place to ask questions and seek the views of the more experienced Beekeepers.

Blimey at that price I would want a Nuc plus bees , but anyway welcome to the wonderful world of beekeeping anf the world of the honey bee. Please feel free to ask any questions you have on here as someone will help you no question is silly or otherwise. Good luck to you for when you get your bees .

Good luck AJuff,

Mo

Welcome. You are much speedier than I - probably deliberated for 8 years and bought bees last year - towards the end of the season. Started my beginners course last week though like you I have read and watched videos. Also did a short weekend course last year.