Hello from Norden rochdale Lancashire

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mouseinhat

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
None
Hi, my name is Matthew, I'm new to beekeeping, never kept a hive before, and do not have any at present, I will be starting beekeeping next year, this year is when I will be building up my knowledge, equipment, and hopefully a local and not so local network of fellow travellers.
Hi there!

Hi Matthew!

Welcome to the Forum!

Hope you enjoy this crazy place. Lots and lots of advice here - most of it contrary! It's supportive, wise, contrary, controversial, maddening and often zany, in equal measure.

You do well to start reading and planning now; it will serve you well for a start this time next year.

I suggest you join a local BKA and go on a course. There's a really good association for Manchester (M&DBKA) based in Heaton Park, and one in Oldham. Not sure about Rochdale, but someone will be along soon to put us straight.

Enjoy!

Dusty

welcome Matthew

I agree there is lots of good advice and information on here, I am finding it very interesting
.bee-smillie

Welcome aboard Matthew.

+1 on joining your local BKA; you'll get access to support, training and the chance for hands on training before you get your bees.

Above all, remember, "Ask three beekeepers, get five opinions."

;)

Hi Matthew and welcome to the forum I live just down the road from you in the not so posh part of Rochdale :) when you get your bees there will be three beekeepers in Rochdale that I know of – anyone else want to add to the list?

Thanks for the welcome everyone, yes, amongst the first things to do is to join a BKA and go on an introduction course, I work near Heaton Park, so that's the most likely one to go to, but looking at their calendar, I've left it a bit too late this year, I'll keep looking around.