Hello all - and a quick question....

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

barrister

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
None
Hi All

This is just a quick not to say "hello" to everyone on this forum - looks great.

I am in my second year as a beekeeper and am struggling with a Nuc that I purchased. I have had it a few weeks but it is just not thriving. The key symptoms are:

(1) Bees seem lethargic as compared to my existing hive.

(2) Yesterday, I inspected and there were about 50 - 60 dead bees under the hive - under the OMF, and a number of bees walking around listlessly.

(3) A sprinkling of mummies were present under the beehive - looking like chalkbrood mummies.

(4) The hive has a few streaks of yellow - guessing dihorrea.

(5) Reasonable stores and brood, but the colony does not seem to be thriving.

My mentor is unfortunately abroad for the next month - would appreciate anyones thoughts / input.

Thanks
Barrister

1 and 2 sounded like the bees were starving, being a beginner I'm not sure as to the rest, have a look on the West Glamorgan BKA website, there's a new article on there from our local Bee inspector on starving bees

i would check to see if they have enough food, it wont hurt giving them a pint or two of feed, 1:1 sugar syrup. As to the streaks, it maybe caused by not having the energy to fly and doing it outside the hive.

Give them some feed and see what happens, i would not worry about the chalkbrood too much if theres only a few. the bees will soon clean it up. If you are worried about it wont hurt to ask for a experianced beek to have a look or even the bee inspector ( i know the inspector would rather be called out than let a colony die out).

We have a member (Bcrazy) on the forum who could do a quick check for Nosema if you send him a couple of bees to sample.