Harvesting honey at this time of year

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

marmite

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
None
Hi I am relatively new to beekeeping and have 2 hives which have not been harvested this year. One hive is very strong with this year's queen and has 2 supers which are fairly heavy. The other has one super which is fairly heavy, with last year's queen but bees are only on 6 frames.
We grow a lot of rape seed around here so some of the honey may have been in the hive for some time.
I also bought some Apilife var yesterday which I am intending to put on the hives in the next couple of days.

What are my options please?
Do I try to take the honey off, then treat and feed
Or do I leave all the Supers on for winter feed and just treat
Or do I leave all the supers on for winter feed and treat and feed

As a newcomer your advice would be very much appreciated.

Last edited:
1. any OSR will have set hard.
2. it's getting a bit late to use thymol based treatments.

probably best to decide what you want to do about the harvest and then treat with MAQS for a short hard hit.

Thanks.I'm not bothered about the honey but will the bees take the rape seed and other honey as food over the winter or do I have to cut out the foundation and start again.

bees'll use it - remember they are happy with fondant.
the problem is only for us and our need to extract rather than consume in situ!

Hi I am relatively new to beekeeping and have 2 hives which have not been harvested this year. One hive is very strong with this year's queen and has 2 supers which are fairly heavy. The other has one super which is fairly heavy, with last year's queen but bees are only on 6 frames.
We grow a lot of rape seed around here so some of the honey may have been in the hive for some time.