Good book for beginners - recommendations please.

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

helenjoebutler

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
None
Hi there,

My husband has asked for a beehive (and bees of course) for his birthday but he would like to read up on how to get started first, could anyone recommend a good book for absolute beginners.

All and any advice will be very greatfully appreciated.

Thanks very much,

Helen and Joe.

Welcome to the forum helenjoebutler
"Guide to Bees & Honey" by Ted Hooper MBE seems to be pretty much indispensable.
Paul Metcalfe's DVD is very good too.
There will be lots of other suggestions from forum members shortly, to be sure :)

Im doing the same can recommend the haynes one well written lots of color pictures and usefull info and [FONT=verdana,arial,helvetica][SIZE=-1]also Practical Beekeeping by Clive De Bruynthat im half way through at the moment.[/SIZE][/FONT]

Hunter, Manual of beekeeping is very readable.

But very many of us like Guide to Bees and Honey by Ted Hooper.

Both can be downloaded from the wibbly wobbly web and there is a post somewhere in the Forum.

But I'm about to start off with bees in April, and am on my 3rd reading of Hooper.

If you want him to keep relatively sane, warn him that this Forum is likely to play with his head!

Hope his plans come right.

And good on you for supporting him. My boss-lady bought me a course.
In return, I've hidden the receipts for equipment.
So far so good.

Dusty.

+1 for Ted Hoopers book. I also reccommend a course in beekeeping either before he gets his bees too, not too expensive and will gather a lot of experience and advice mixing with other beekeepers. Thats what I did, it also helps to know how confident you are with lots of angry bees buzzing around you.

Welcome