Getting a head start in 2015?

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
Hi, I'm just starting out and currently attending beginners course with practical course booked for next May. I wanted to start keeping bees this year but was strongly advised to learn and experience first! I'm desperate to crack on and concerned that ordering a Nuc now for next season might mean I don't really get started until Late May or June - probably to late to enjoy a harvest in 2015?

Is there a way of getting started sooner in the season? Our Apiary is in woodland with plenty of Spring flowering trees.

As well as your beginners course, I would suggest finding a mentor and working alongside them for a time as the practical experience will give you knowledge and more importantly, an awareness of the bees that a book or course cannot do. You will also build up a relationship with another beekeeper who will be able to give you a little support when things really get going in the beekeeping season (and vice versa).

A nucleus colony of honeybees will generally build up rapidly, particularly in the presence of a goodly supply of pollen and nectar. This build up often surprises people working with bees for the first time. Such a colony will have a lot of work to do to allow you to take off some surplus honey: they will have perhaps 6 brood frames to draw out and frames in your super(s) to draw out also. They have bees to raise and pollen and nectar to gather. That is a lot of work but it is work that the bees want to do and I would anticipate that any Nuc I sold in May would be capable of giving a honey crop - weather permitting.