Feeding fondant

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SwiftOtter

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
Hi everyone I'm just getting ready to put my hive to bed for winter, this is my first year. During the last inspection (late Sept) they had about 6 brood frames of stores, no supers this year since I received the bees quite late. Since then rubbish weather and a family bereavement have meant that I was unable to carry out another inspection, but I have continued feeding syrup until recently. I have to admit I have no real reference to judge the stores by hefting due to inexperience, and I am reluctant to open the hive up now. It's a nice day now, but frosty! I have a pound of fondant and some blocks of Ecotherm (an equivalent to kingspan). I was planning to fill a super with the insulation (sorry I should have mentioned the OMF) and place the fondant still in its bag with slits in a plastic container over one of the slots in the crown board. I really don't want to open it up if I can avoid it. Does this sound reasonable?

Thanks
Chris

Wait until later in the day when the bees are flying and have a quick look in. Simple. little time open. Just check for stores on outer frames and towards the middle without disturbing any frames where brood might still be (where the bees are is a good indication).

If full (often new white cappings on the shoulders of the frames), just leave and get used to the hefting weight at any opportunity for future reference. If very light, maybe remove the outer frame(s) and dummy/divide to restrict the bees and to insulate them from the winter weather. Kingspan or EPS behind a sealing divider is my method.

Just lifting the frames a little should give an indication of how full they are without removing them.