Drawing comb

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

KatieC

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
Hi all,
I have my very first hive and on Sunday I got a swarm. I have been tonight to move my queen excluder from under the brood box to on top.
The bees all look okay but they haven't started drawing any comb at all yet. There is a feeder on the hive and it still has plenty of feed in it (and lots of bees too)
Am I just being impatient? It has been pretty rubbish weather here this week, but I did think they would have started doing something after 4 days

Any ideas please?

I am only in my 2nd year but my 2nd hive were the same. They were like the stereotype Spanish builders! Throughput the whole summer they only drew barely 3 frames in the brood box and 5/6 frames in the super (i use national brood and a half). Just chill out. Give the bees the opportunity to expand and when they need to they will!
I asked exactly the same question with my 2nd hive!!

Thanks so much-I'm just impatient aren't I!! Have your second hive improved or if they are slow now will they always be slow?

Thanks so much-I'm just impatient aren't I!! Have your second hive improved or if they are slow now will they always be slow?

I was in the same situation early may. I left mine for two weeks before peeking, probably should have been longer but being new we cannot help ourselves. I only fed mine on days when it was raining and cold. To be honest I had as many people saying feed and not. They were out and very busy so did not feed them much, and when I did they took very little down.