Death of Analogue

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
OK. A bit of social history. As some of you may know, in a previous life I was a police officer. In 1980 I took on a country beat for nine years as I had young children and we were given a nice country house to live in and the children could go to a rural school. In the office attached to the house was a cupboard and in that cupboard was a speaker system and an air raid siren. Every six months or so I was sent a postcard with a time and date. It could be any time of the day. I would have to go to the speaker which until then would have been silent. It would leap into action with a test call. It would sound various pips and then I would be given a password which I would have to send off to prove I had been listening. The idea was that in the event of nuclear war I would have to listen to this device and would be given a five minute warning for a nuclear warhead landing. In that five minutes I would have to sound the air raid siren to give the local villagers a three minute warning. Quite what we were supposed to do in those three minutes I will leave to your imagination. Put your head between your legs and kiss your arse goodbye was the joke phrase of the time.
The reason I tell you all this is that the early warning speakers were linked to the speaking clock system. On the third pip and all that. The speaking clock system was set apart from all other telephone systems and the majority of lines to main bases were buried. the idea being that should all other communications fail the lines for the speaking clock would stay open between strategic places.
The whole system has now gone but in the day these hidden speakers were in many public buildings. All police stations had one as there were police stations or beat offices in most towns and villages.