Best sign that Queen is dead?

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Honeypi

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
Hi all,

I'm very new to this game but just did my first inspection over the weekend while it was good and warm. I couldn't see the queen, which I can happily accept is due to my lack of experience but didn't see any eggs either. That could also be lack of experience I suppose.

There were very young larvae and lots of brood. Does it follow that if there are young larvae a week after this inspection then she must be there and laying?

I've searched around on the Internet and have read plenty but would still appreciate any tips on spotting her majesty or eggs!

are the eggs neatly placed (one in the bottom of each cell) and laid in a nice orderly pattern? (not dotted here there and everywhere) is there any capped brood - if so, is it worker brood or drone?
If you have a nice even, orderly laying pattern with a single egg in the bottom of each cell there's a chance the queen was there less than three days ago - if there's sealed brood and it's worker brood - it had to be a fertile queen laying those eggs

If queenie has gone for some time you may get laying workers - eggs stuch to the sides of the cells as they can't reach the bottom, multiple eggs in cells, ramdom sporadic laying pattern and as they cannot fertilise eggs - drone brood only.

Hi all,

I'm very new to this game but just did my first inspection over the weekend while it was good and warm. I couldn't see the queen, which I can happily accept is due to my lack of experience but didn't see any eggs either. That could also be lack of experience I suppose.