Bees on crown board - silly ?

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

AndreaW

House Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
Commercial
Number of Hives
Okay folks I am new at all this so bear with me :blush5:

Just starting my practical course so not too sure about everything I see yet. Have been roped into looking after someone's 3 hives which are well established in the meantime :)

Question is when I opened one hive today there were loads of bees on top of crown board - do they just do this? I had a feeling I had read somewhere that it meant something. There are 3 supers on this hive already above QE, on a commercial brood box - hive was very very busy although it could be normal for this time of year, lots going on in the supers, only a few frames of capped honey though.

Do I need to put on more supers or is this all normal? Thanks.

Hi Andrea

The holes in the crownboard should be covered otherwise they will get up into the roofspace.

FB

Andrea

The holes in the crown board should be open to aid ventilation for removing the water in the nectar to produce honey.

If they want to chill out in the roof space, I don't mind.

Hi Andrea

The holes in the crownboard should be covered otherwise they will get up into the roofspace.

FB

Many people do not cover the crown board holes!

In fact it can be a life (swarm) saver, if for any reason you miss an inspection, holiday etc it gives them that bit extra space to build in (as a very last resort).

i keep the openings on the crown board open, i would add another super as ive found that when there alot of bees above the crownboard its a sign that there is too little room for the bees.

Get real. If you want to leave the holes open COVER THEM WITH SOME MESH to contain the bees. You will soon see whether the bees want that extra ventilation or not.