Bees fetching nectar or water

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TOBY-3652

Drone Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
Hi this is probably a daft question to some // some people have said on here that they have seen there bees bringing in pollen?? Nectar?? And water.. I know when there bringing in pollen because i can see it. But how do you know when there bringing either water or nectar????

A very good question (well I think so anyway) I am looking forward to the answer because I have been beekeeping for 2 years now and I know for a fact that I have only learnt about 0.01%. When other beek's say "oh look they are bringing in nectar" I have always just agreed, so not to look like an prize prat lol.

Angle of attack and body language ?

Imagine an empty bee and it's centre of balance, now fill it up with nectar or water and it will naturally become a little tail heavy, with a necessity to move the back legs forward to correct the centre of balance - others might correct me if I'm 180 degrees out :blush5:

Now actually seeing this and registering it properly as the bees zoom about everywhere is quite a different matter. :biggrinjester:

But I hope that this helps - tail down = loaded.
Nectar, water or just on an outward personal cleansing visit.

I know they are bringing in water as I can see them flying from hive to pond and back again.

I think a lot of it is guess work, but it is as xgeordie says - if they are returning to the hive from the direction of a water source it'll probably be water, if they're coming back from a large field of OSR then it'll be nectar.
I realise this doesn't help much if they're just hopping back over the garden fence!

Mine are bringing in both nectar and water.

How do I know? Simples: