Beekeeping on a shoestring budget

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cinnamon

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
Hello all,

I'm new to beekeeping. I've done a day-long beekeeping course at Kate Humble's farm. Although I'm inspired I've found one of the instructors to be a "perfectionist" for all things bees. For instance, she was quite aggressive about commercial bee-keepers (despite one of them being an instructor and was in the room!!!) and she despised anything but the natural materials so Omlet's beehives or Flowhive were all evil because they are plastic etc. I don't know.. I think if bees are happy to adopt the hive, they clearly don't care where they choose to nest. They have wings and they can fly if they don't like it! I've never kept bees, so I may be way off... but I've been reading a LOT. So the following questions might be quite "newbie".

I like the top bar hives and I suppose I could build one - but I was thinking whether I could use a polystyrene catering type of box. I used to cook for a homeless charity and we used polystyrene boxes to keep food hot. So a similarly, this could keep the bees warm. Am I being naive about this?

I want to start slow and learn as I do. What I don't want to do is to make a bad start and get disheartened. Does anyone have polystyrene hives, whether you made them or bought them online? If so, were they a good idea?

I am thinking of using something like this: http://www.jbpackaging.co.uk/thermo-boxes/25kg-catering-food-box.html

Then put slats across and put the lid on for added insulation and make a entry/exit hole.

Any help is much appreciated.

Hello all,