Beehive - University design project.

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Chris Weir

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
None
I am currently a student at Loughborough University, studying Industrial Design & Technology. For my final year project I am thinking about designing a innovative beehive that is aimed at the urban/suburban environment, with the intention of making the activity less daunting and more attractive to novices.
I would appreciate your views and any suggestions you may have regarding my project.
Many thanks
Chris.

bee-smillie

Sounds like a good project Chris - good luck with it.
There are already a lot of different hive designs on the market, including the beehaus, which I believe was designed with similar intentions to yours.
However, there is always scope for improvements. You might want to consider in-hive technology - a temperature gauge, weight gauge, web cam etc.

Chris?

Good luck with your studies but the UK is plagued with a plethora of hives already.

There are already too many.

I am some 8 miles from you so if you want to have a chat PM me.

PH

A low cost beehive would always be welcome.

A low cost beehive would always be welcome.

There is one. It's called a top bar hive. and the cheaper ones are the Kenyan type?

The only thing I can add of possible worth is think 'storage'. I mean designing a hive that is storage efficient. I never imagined I would a) have so much kit, and b) struggle to have space to store it. I keep my bees at an out apiary, and am lucky enough to keep some of my kit in a lean-to barn. If I kept my bees in my end terrace house garden, and had to keep all my kit here as well, I would have even more of a storage problem than I do now. So clever storage, in my opinion, might be a way forward. Just a suggestion, and good luck

Sally