Bee Keeping in South Italy

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

zoedeluca

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
None
Hi Everyone, I need lots of advice, no matter how bizarre, all will be considered.

Some background for you guys to mull over:
1. I'm a newbie - have read books attended lectures and beginners courses

2. I'm in South East Italy - Weather - Summer up to 50 degrees July /august Winter -1 or 2 frosts per year snow once every 25 years Temp at time of posting 25/11/13 15 degrees - any advice on keeping these ladies cool in summer and warm in winter?

3. Living in the countryside half way between 2 towns - any advice on anything

4. Objective is to start small (2 -3 nucs) and build up to about 20 hives - Advice on: where to buy hives, equipment, anything in fact

thanks in advance looking forward to heap of replies Zoe

Hi Zoe good advice is international.
My advice is for you to make contact with local Beekeepers !
This way you will find out the type of hives used in the area . I take it the nucs you obtain will be on local frames, therefore it will help greatly to use the same type hive .
Also you will have a pool of help and advice local to your area?
Welcome to the forum
VM

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Welcome Zoe ... I'm sure you will find some good advice here but bear in mind that your climate is very different to the UK and you will face some very different patterns in your bees. For instance, the warm climate could see you with a colony that has brood all the year ... this is good in some respects but in the fight against Varroa has some disdvantages.