Am I just unlucky?

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Do224

Drone Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
I’m a complete newbie but I’ve been fortunate enough to have visited a number of local apiaries and been ‘shown the ropes’ by a few different beekeepers.

I’ve been really enjoying it and am looking forward to getting my first colony. However......on each occasion that I’ve been around bees I seem to get far more ‘attention’ than others in the group. I look around at others and they might have the odd bee hovering around them.....while I’ve got bees bouncing off my veil and constantly pinging against my hands.

My bee suit is new and I’ve not washed it yet. I’ve tried having a shower before I visit an apiary without using any soap/shampoo. I’ve been avoiding using any deodorant/aftershave. I’m very calm in the apiary and make slow movements.....I’m really struggling to work out why they’re taking offence at me in particular.

I was with a group of four at an apiary today and we opened a particularly hostile colony.....the bees really went after me and followed me quite a way from the apiary. I even had to wander away from the other guys to allow them to get their bee suits off as I still had bees swarming all around me. Any advice greatly appreciated!

As you've already tried, avoiding scents is sensible. Washing your suit regularly is also important. If bees have been after you in numbers there's a good chance your suit has taken stings even if they haven't hit you so you're not necessarily aware. Washing your suit will ensure there's no remaining alarm pheromone.

What you eat can also bother the bees. Someone recently posted on here about eating pear drops, the smell of which is very similar to the alarm pheromone.

Of course you might just be unlucky 🙂