Allergic reaction

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rockdoc

Field Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
I'm putting this out there in case anyone else has suffered similar symptoms, and might be able to help. I've been beekeeping for over 17 years now, but this winter I appear to have developed a reaction which seems to be related to my visits to my apiary. For example, today I went to check on levels of fondant, so only lifted the roof and checked the fondant box above the brood box. About two hours later my throat feels like its swelled slightly internally giving me a minor problem swallowing. I had previously put this down to a relic of a long niggling cold earlier this winter, but now I'm not too sure. I went to the doctor a while ago concerned that there may be something wrong and, ironically, he put me on a programme of anti histomin tablets, which did nothing. I've never suffered anything like this before, and find it hard to reconcile a reaction attributed to my bees, especially at this time of year. Any suggestions/experiences gratefully received from a rather concerned beekeeper.
:sos:

I don't know the answer but have you tried visiting a friend's apiary, doing the same thing to see if it happens there?

If it doesn't it could indicate it's something at the location of your apiary, not the bees or hive.

If you're concerned, why not ask for an allergy test, then you'd be sure.

Further to my last - or you could try visiting your apiary without opening any hives and see if it happens again.

Further to my last - or you could try visiting your apiary without opening any hives and see if it happens again.