Suffolk Newbie

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
Hello All,
I did a great beginners course last year, and joined my local association. Now have 3 colonies, 2 of them swarms brought by a friend and my mentor. The association and mentor have been invaluable.
I've been lurking on the forum for a while, and learned so much, along with absorbing information from BIBBA, Stuart Spinks, BMH, and David Evans. Somewhere in that lot there is a middle ground.
Before retirement I was a doctor, so love the mixture of practical, learning, doing, and problem solving. One day I aspire to adequacy; at the moment I am still in the 'investment and incompetence' phase; slowly transitioning into conscious incompetence, and making plans for how to do better next year. It's actually very refreshing to start something new and have to work hard to grasp the basics, and even harder to actually put them, falteringly, into action. It will be a while before I have to trouble my accountant about honey sales.
I've not yet had to ask any questions - mainly because the forum is a rich source of information; vaping, Nosema (or not), swarms and Demarees and much else, and so on - solar wax extractor built, weighing in winter, feeding, fondant, pond in garden for bees to drink from... I've thrown my matchsticks away.
I've also learned to temper following advice with checking the location of the person posting, and the need to translate that according to the local conditions.
While not wanting to start another thread I also find it deeply ironic that I spent my professional life being (strongly) encouraged to prescribe generically by the government, and yet can only legally clean my hives with generic OA, because of laws passed by the same government.