Advice on swarm cells

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bitbybit

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
Other
Number of Hives
I am new to beekeeping. I purchased two nucs about a month ago. One nuc seems to be doing much better than the other building up stores. I have found the queen in this hive during inspections and all looks well. I have now opened the other hive three times and have yet to spot the queen (this could easily be down to inexperience) this hive is busy enough but has not got the same levels of stores. Today I noticed an open queen cell in the middle of the comb- is this a sign that the queen is failing?, not mated properly? or other what should I do?

You will get better advice if we knew whether there was eggs, unsealed and sealed brood and how much of each. A dry queen cell is nothing to worry about. 3 or fewer charged (wet, full of creamy brood food) queens cells are nothing to worry about either.

thanks

Thank you Lorenz, I'll take a closer look regarding eggs next time I open. It is great to get information for experienced beekeepers. Having a hive is like being Dad to thousands of children!!!

Queens are illusive. Learn to spot eggs. They are easy to see if you get light right behind you. Once you have seen eggs you will know what you are looking for. If you have eggs you know the queen has been there in the last three days, you can tell by what the eggs look like as to how old they are, one two or three days. Have you put your nucs in full size hives? Good luck
E

So Enrico how can you tell how old the eggs are because I can't ? You are not going to quote that long disproved "myth" about the angle changing every day are you?