A newbie

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jeremy Hunter

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
None
Hello, I'm relatively new to all this.

I grew up with beekeeping parents, for them as with most it was a hobby. I often helped out as a kid (from the mundane scraping of propolis to the more entertaining comb spinning) but recently I have developed a greater interest and it only took one visit to their hive assisted to realise the wonder. The second time I went to the hive, to apply a the first super of the season, I did it on my own. A small task but it was very gratifying to know I was helping a hive.

I am looking to, before very long, move with my wife to a more rural area and start a couple of hives as a hobby. I would ask my parents but they started beekeeping a long time ago and no doubt times have changed in requirements since they did. I'm sorry if this sort of question has been answered before, but I don't really know what is for which I'm looking, however here goes: should I get some qualification training before starting beekeeping? Or is that only if you want to go commercial? And if I enjoyed beekeeping to the point of wanting to do it commercially, what advice would you give to someone making that leap? And would I need extra qualifications?

Thank you for any information given! I've been reading books on bees and their biology/sociology, but I'm otherwise pretty lost!

I think it would be a very good idea to talk to your parents, and involve them if you can.

"Things" will have changed, but probably less radically than you imagine, mainly to do with controlling varroa - at least that's what an 83 year old beekeeper told us during a recent course.

Some of the newer beekeeping books are very comprehensive.