woodpecker proofing

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Brimstone

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
Langstroth
Number of Hives
Hi I'm very new to beekeeping, collecting my first swarm only on monday, so am very green and on a steep learning curve.
We used to have an out-apiary in the garden for a local beekeeper and many of his hives were badly damaged by our resident green woodpeckers.
What I need to know is how can I protect the hive from Mr pecker?
Also am I right in thinking that the woodpeckers will only seek out the bees in cold weather?
Thanks for your help

Hi I'm very new to beekeeping, collecting my first swarm only on monday, so am very green and on a steep learning curve.
We used to have an out-apiary in the garden for a local beekeeper and many of his hives were badly damaged by our resident green woodpeckers.
What I need to know is how can I protect the hive from Mr pecker?
Also am I right in thinking that the woodpeckers will only seek out the bees in cold weather?
Thanks for your help
There is occasional woodpecker damage around here, but nothing for a couple of years. Some places, they're back every year, some places only occasionally. They only attack when ants, their food of choice, are not available. Yes, depths of winter and whether there are problems will depend on local conditions and other food availability. We had green woodpeckers on the ground and peanut feeders only a couple of metres from hives last winter but they showed no interest in the hives and there was no damage. The birds are quite long lived, living into their teens is recorded. If there is damage and it becomes a regular event it's likely that the same birds are involved.