Who I am

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
I thought I had possibly introduce myself and put up some information about my past beekeeping.

I worked in the offshore oil business for 28 years in a number of capacities, Roustabout Roughneck, yep the guys that throw the pipe around, Helideck work, Cleaning Foreman and latterly Materials Man.

In 1987 my ex wife and I started beekeeping and by 1990 we had some 8 colonies or so.

B. Mobus was the last Bee Advisor at the North of Scotland's College of Agriculture apiary at Craibstone estate, and he was being pushed into retiring early so the unit could be closed down. This famous Apiary was where the disease we know as Acarine, was diagnosed thanks to a gift of money from a Mr Wood, of some £6000, which in the 20's was a very substantial sum indeed. Now you know too why it is called woodi!

Bernard knew I was a very keep beeman and asked me if I would consider running Craibstone when he left thinking that possibly the college might change it's mind.

And so it came to pass that Moira and I ran Craibstone for 5 years, along with the 50 colonies that came with it.

At times we were running 80+ and literally producing some 2 tons of blossom and more and also near a ton of heather, plus quite a lot of cut comb.

Then things got a bit silly as it was a fourty mile trip near every day so we built a honey house at home and moved out of Craibstone and reduced our numbers to about 30.

I then had a rota change to 21 and 21 and that was the death knell. Moira couldn't cope and gradually it all went down hill. I got depressed and the last straw was the farmer we had had a very amiable relationship with for years for goodness knows what reason deciding we had abandoned the apiary and burning all the kit we had there. Stocks and all.