Which type of bee?

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tim.S

House Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
More than I used to have.
I have been keeping bees for 4 years now and it has been great fun. Like a lot of people I started out with a swarm given by a fellow beek, and most of the bees I have today are descended from that swarm. Trouble is they are a touch swarmy and as my time for beekeeping is more limited these days due to other commitments, the time has come to change to a more cooperative bee. I tried a couple of Buckfast queens last year and they came through the winter quite well and seem to be nicer to handle. The big plus in my book is my local girls are now making queen cells everywhere and the Buckfast are happily minding their own business not making cells.
So the question is, time to replace the rest with Buckfast, or do you have a better breed in mind?

Others will obviously disagree and I do like my local queens but from time to time I also like to buy in a queen from a breeder and it will always be a Buckfast.
I will be getting a couple this year one for myself and a one for a friend as I am trying to wean him of Italians.
You can always remove the QC’s from your swarming hives and then give them a frame or two with eggs from your Buckfast hives in the hope they will produce QC’s from them once they start to try and swarm again, this way some of the Buckfast characteristics will be passed on.

If you want to select bee strain, first you should evaluate how is you basic beekeeping.
Modern queen lays much and national brood +half is too small to nurse.

The style of nursing should follow the size of colony. If the queen is good, you give as much laying room as it needs. if you do not so, the colony has only one idea in its mind: swarming.