What am I doing wrong?

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dto001

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
None
Hi All,

This is the second year running that my bees haven't drawn out comb I the super. The brood box was full in around May and there was a super added.
I've tried spraying sugar water on the wax leaving out the queen excluder but for some reason They won't go up I have 2 over wintered nucs an over wintered hive and 3 nucs from this year. I can understand this years hives not going up but at least one should have gone up?
Have to start planning for next year once I've finished getting them ready for winter.

Cheers in advance

I am no expert, I can only give you a little bit of a tale. My own bees, despite drawing and filling two supers have steadfastly refused to draw comb in the four outside frames of the brood box. It's just bees and they haven't read the book perhaps.

When and where did you get the wax?
Perhaps PM would be safer!

Last edited:
Hi All,

This is the second year running that my bees haven't drawn out comb I the super.

Looks like they didn't need the space - or did they swarm?

I am no expert, My own bees, despite drawing and filling two supers have steadfastly refused to draw comb in the four outside frames of the brood box.

Should have waited for them to draw it before adding a super. You add space on top and they will work upwards instead of sideways.

Should have waited for them to draw it before adding a super. You add space on top and they will work upwards instead of sideways.

Strangely, just after I posted I realised that's what the problem might have been but you can't delete messages, only edit them.