walking out of the hive and off the landing board!

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

HelenHP16

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
Hello - I observed what I thought was worring behaviour on my evening tea drinking session viewing the comings and goings last night, but as I'm new to this is might be quite normal and so would like your advice. A number of quite small bees were walking out of the hive and straight off the landing board onto the ground making no attempt what so ever to fly - I put a few of them back but they just launched themselves off the precipice again. They have just completed their first week of Api-life var treatment but this is the first time I've seen this. Many thanks

H

Very early on we were told by an old beek never to pick bees off the ground to return to the hive - they may be lurking on the ground for all sorts of foul reasons. Healthy bees should be able to fly back into their hive.

I've yet to do my autumn varroa treatment so I don't know if your bees are reacting to apilife var ... but bees crawling out of the hive because they've had their wings and hairs chewed off by their housemates may be victims of chronic paralysis virus ... which varroa is a vector of

Thanks for that advice - I'll leave the fallen where they are in future. The bees doing this look healthy - wings in tact and they don't look black and shiny as described on the beebase site