Starting to worry about move tomorrow.

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Vergilius

Field Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
6ish
Okay.

Moving my aggressive colony to an out apiary tomorrow morning (my grandpa's field). After doing a quick prelim last weekend I know that they are doing fantastically well. As this is my first experience of moving hives I am starting to worry a bit though; is there any chance that this colony, which has been going well for three years now, may suffer from the move??? As this was the first colony I ever had I do not want to loose them... Would like to hear from those of you who do move yours around a bit, just to settle my worries a bit!!!

Ben P

Well I am not that experienced at moving hives but last year I had to move mine across the garden - but that meant moving it a few miles down the road to my mates garden for a week or two and then back to it's new place about 30 yards from where it started.

I was a little nervous (like you) but prepared what I thought I needed and then on the night:
1) Blocked the entrance at dusk.
2) Wrapped a couple of straps on
3) Picked up the whole lot and put it in the back of the car (hatch back)
4) Drove to my mate
5) Put the hive on the stand and pulled out the block.

Had a coffee with my mate then went home.
Popped to fuss a couple of times but basically left them to it for a couple of weeks. Then block back in and brought them home (even more casually).

No problems just prepare well and go for it.

Okay.

Thanks for the advice. It is on one of those standard wooden hive stands which means that it is nigh-on impossible to lift off- would there be a problem with strapping the hive to the stand and putting it in the boot of the car? Or would it be too unstable to move on the stand?

Ben P