Sales

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ma1308

House Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
Hello, this is my first year as a bee owner, I will call myself a bee keeper when I get some honey :). I am aware some suppliers have a few sales towards the end of the year, I was thinking of ordering some poly nucs from P4yn3s do they have a sale is it worth waiting any info would be much appreciated.

Their site says the sale starts on 26th December.

I'm one of many who use their polynucs and will continue to do so but see their problems. The difficulty involved in not crushing bees, and issues with the feeder - lots of drowned bees or comb getting built in them. I prefer the wooden nucs but have to say that bees do winter quite well in the poly ones.

I have a few of their poly nucs and I always buy them with the eke, then place the feeder on top and block off the side feeder, saves losing bees in the feeder and the bees building comb in the side feeder.

Shropshire?
There will be some 'offers' at the BBKA Spring Convention at Harper Adams.
No idea as to Pains participation.

I think the Pains Nat/14x12 polynuc is pretty decent - after you have blocked off the feeder from the top (and side if you use the 14x12 eke). But since it takes 6 frames, using an ordinary frame feeder isn't a problem. The new disc entrance may benefit from a peg to prevent accidental rotation.

I also have poly nucs i put twigs in feeder no more dead bees .

They build comb in the feeder... Blooming nuisance! Block it off. Otherwise really handy for boxing and moving swarms. Have two, wouldn't buy more but they have their uses.