Observing outside the hive

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

snoop

House Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
Langstroth
Number of Hives
poly hives
I am trying to come up with a detailed answer for the following question

" Imagine you keep bees in your garden -descibe the items of information about a colony that can be deducted by careful observation day by day from outside the hive.
Describe how you would verify your deductions when you open the hive in the course of a normal examination "

Any suggetions ? I am studying for a practical beekeeping exam in 8 weeks

Pollen going in = queenright and laying?? Open up and confirm.

Bees zig zagging in front of hive?? Possible robbing attempt in progress.

Not to be confused with the daily mid afternoon tea/fag break/ orientation session. Warm afternoons only.

Ian

Thousands of bees rolling out of the entrance as fast as there wings will carry them and then disappearing over the horizon.

Check inside the hive to find no queen and a lot fewer bees.
Yes they swarmed, so you will now need to put on your running shoes and stop sitting there watching the hive...

Brian

Yes they swarmed, so you will now need to put on your running shoes and stop sitting there watching the hive...

:)

Bees returning, no pollen visible but crash landing on the alighting board = over-loaded with nectar = good flow on check super space available.

There is a lot of activity at the hive entrance, some of the bees appear mal-formed and agressive - they are being attacked by wasps!

There is a lot of activity at the hive entrance, some of the bees appear massively over-weight / obese, mal-formed and very agressive - they are being attacked by hornets!