New Member - Living in France

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bobh

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
Dadant
Number of Hives
Hello there, My name is Bob Humphrey and I have been keeping bees for 3 years here in SW France. Have had limited success with a little honey produced most years. Last winter was a disaster, and I lost 4 hives which were disease free and was thought to be due to a warm February, the bees consuming all the remaining pollen (plenty of honey and sugar stores in the brood box) then 6 weeks of cold and rain - A disaster. Anyway, I found 3 new wild swarms and they have been happy in their new home, but not very productive. I put this down to small colony size. One colony lost its queen, but they soon replaced her and were back on course. The end of the honey season came and as a precaution, I treated for varoa with THYMOL blocks. At about this time, there was a magnificent show of IVY and one hive set about it with gusto, filling a super within 3 weeks.
Now this capped honey will be 'tainted' by THYMOL. Is this honey OK for human consumption? If I leave it in the supers, the wax moth will probably get to it as the bees tend to stay in the brood box during the winter.
What would you do?