Mice

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Poly Hive

Queen Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
12 and 18 Nucs
Just a timely reminder that mouse guards need puting on soon.

Further it will pay you to keep a few traps running by the hives to physically reduce numbers.

I habitually put poison under the hives and can say with some certainty that a good 80% is consumed over winter by rodents.

Before the screaming starts along with the alarmist arm waving my bees are not, I repeat not, in an urban situation where pets can be affected.

In urban areas use traps and run them with a mind to other animals.

The only good mouse is a dead un.

PH

What about other species that may either take the poison or feed on poisoned voles and mice? Barn Owls are a well known example that suffer this way but the list is long.

Chris

I am new to Poly Nucs, I got two 6 frame nationals from Paynes. How would they be mouse guarded? I was thinking of getting a redundant punched metal mouse guard, cutting it down, bending to shape then somehow(I have not thought this one through yet) fastening it over the entrance.

I repeat not, in an urban situation where pets can be affected.

I agree with Chris.

Urban or not, the poison should only be accessible to the target pest. It should never be left in an open situation where other, non-target, animals can potentially take it. At this time of the year I might be thinking of hedgehogs per eg.

RAB

"I was thinking of getting a redundant punched metal mouse guard, cutting it down, bending to shape then somehow(I have not thought this one through yet) fastening it over the entrance."

precisely - cut off a piece 10-15cm, bend and tack to hive with drawing pins.

OR get a full one, put a bend towards each end making a staple shape which clamps over roof and under floor!!!