Is this normal please?

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Number of Hives
Good evening - this is my first post and I’m not entirely sure I’m issuing this forum correctly?!

My name is Chloe, I live in East Sussex near Rye and I’m very new to beekeeping. I have a top bar hive and caught a swarm early May 2023. They have been doing brilliantly, seem to be very strong but I have noticed this at the entrance and was wondering if anyone who has a top bar hive knows if this is normal please?

I will probably have many more questions but i noticed this today.

Many thanks
Kind regards
Chloe

Attachments

• IMG_6457.jpeg
    IMG_6457.jpeg
    1.7 MB · Views: 6
anyone who has a top bar hive knows if this is normal
Normal for all types of beekeeping and wild honey bee nests. Used for sealing gaps for security, temp+humidity modulation, to reduce entrances to enable easier defence, to minimise vibration and to maintain colony health.

Propolis is anti-septic, anti-bacterial, anti-viral and anti-oxidant and bees use it to coat everything in a nest or hive.

Humans cottoned on millions of years ago and use it for better health.

Do you have a Haynes Bee Manual? Check pages 17, 27, 74 & 125.

Good evening - this is my first post and I’m not entirely sure I’m issuing this forum correctly?!

My name is Chloe, I live in East Sussex near Rye and I’m very new to beekeeping. I have a top bar hive and caught a swarm early May 2023. They have been doing brilliantly, seem to be very strong but I have noticed this at the entrance and was wondering if anyone who has a top bar hive knows if this is normal please?

I will probably have many more questions but i noticed this today.

Many thanks
Kind regards
Chloe