Inherited Bees

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MattK

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
Hi,

I have just taken on an allotment which has 6 bee hives on it which were left by the previous tenant. I know that the bees have not been looked at for at least 18 months, possibly as much as two and a half years. From flying activity it looks as though they all have active bees in them.

I have no experience of bee keeping but I'd like to try to take it up and look afer them.

From what I've read, it seems that it's getting late to open and inspect the hives so I'm considering leaving them untouched for the winter and trying to find a local expert to inspect them in the spring and go from there. I'm hoping that as no honey has been taken, that they'll have enough food for the winter.

One exception to the leaving alone plan is that a leg of one of the hives has rotted and the hive is leaning over so I will need to add some support to stop it collapsing.

I'd be interested in thoughts about whether this is the correct approach or especially if I should be doing anything more urgently at this point.

Thanks in anticipation,
Matt

Welcome to the forum Mattk :)
I'm a newbie, so can't offer much advice - but if you can narrow down your location a bit? Do you know what type of hives they are? Perhaps post a photo if you don't know.
It will enable the more experienced on the forum to help you more.

Hi
Where do you live
It may be that theres a local club or beekeepr in your area with enough time on his hands to look aftert them or even take them off your hands.

they will need to be checked first in case they have any illness disease or varroa mite as someone with bees of there own wont want to infest there bees with anything that could be wrong with yours. They are probally Ok but the do need checking.