In at the deep end

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

simonf

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
Smith
Number of Hives
Hello all, I have been reading with great interest the last couple of weeks some very informative posts, I'm new to beekeeping and was thrown in at the deep end last year when I let my brother keep one of his hives in my back garden.
He moved it in early may as he was giving up his allotment and in early june it swarmed, his own fault really, was just too busy at work and new they were getting short of space, anyway I got the call from my other half telling me the sky had gone black with bees, luckily they landed in a bush about 7 feet of the ground in the neighbours garden. Unlucky for me my brother was at work and wasn't due back any time soon, it was left up to me to catch the swarm.
I had caught a swarm with him before, well held the ladder for him, so I knew the basics, I put on his suit primed the smoker and set about up the ladder, I was a bit nervous to say the least but knew what I had to do.
I was up the ladder with a box in one hand and some secaturs ? in the other trying to cut the branch the swarm was on, it took a bit of doing but eventually with some struggling I managed it.

That was my introduction to beekeeping we housed the swarm but lost it again not long after but aquired another one in some empty supers he was storing in my mothers garden, so we have 2 colonys to start the new season with plans to increase to 4.

I will be a regular reader but will probs not have much input as I have no real experience I would like to say however I see alot of disagreements in how things should be done or how people do things differently, keep it up though, I find it very informative, thankyou.