How the bee has changed.

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hive Type
Langstroth
Number of Hives
Its 9.30am on a chilly, (15 degrees C) but sunny December morning in Chiangmai, Northern Thailand and the bees in our 6 colonies are just starting to fly for the day. Apis meliffera has been in Thailand for a little over 50 years, a relatively short time in evolutionary terms but the honeybee seems to have changed quite a lot over this time. The differences in the behaviour of the honeybee and how we produce honey here are now really quite different from what I read from UK beeks on this forum. So I thought it might be interesting to discuss a few of the most obvious differences with you all. I have limited experience, (4 years) of beekeeping here, so ideas any of you have on how to take better advantage of these different behaviours and conditions are most welcome.

Firstly then lets start with the opening comment about temperature. Here the bees fly every day of the year. However, they don't fly in heavy rain or when the temp is below 15 degrees. I see posts on the forum of UK bees flying at very low temps. Clearly the honeybee has adapted to the much higher summer temps here, (+40 degrees C) but it also seems to have lost its capacity to forage at temps below 15 degrees C. I can’t for the life of me understand why this would happen, particularly as generally speaking the colder weather is at a time when plenty of foraging is available.