how can i transfer the colony to a new hive?

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

shrekfeet

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
please help me, I'm in my third year, have spent a fortune on equipment and harvested very little honey. I'm fast losing faith.
Anyway, 3 weeks ago on the night before I was due to get up at 4am to go on holiday my bees swarmed. It was fast going dark, I had to do something so with no spare hive I fashioned one from a wooden box, added 3 drawn out frames and introduced the swarm. Brilliant, they stayed so when I got back from holiday I bought a new hive with the intention of lifting the queen, the brood frames and all into the new hive.

Guess what? And I know all you experienced keepers know the answer. The colony has completely ignored the frames and built some lovely fins of comb all on their clever own

:willy_nilly:

so how do I deal with this. I can't really expect to be able to manage them if I leave them in the box but I don't know how to get them into the hive.
please help

Leave them in there for the winter and do a bailey change in the spring

who is chris?

A bailey change is when you place a brood box on top of the box you have the bees then draw out the foundation you then find queen and put her in the new box put queen excluder on and place original box on top until the brood hatch.

meant Craig, not Chris. It's been a long day!
Thanks for the advice.

How big is your swarm? It has drawn 3 frames. It does not sound big.
But how it can draw his own combs? You have some empty space there.

Now you should have a hive what the swarm occupye totally.
Then, no mesh floor.

If the swarm occupye 3-4 frames, its ventilation should be 10 mm x 30 mm.

You may aid the colony when you take a frood frame from original hive.