Hive 1 brood. Hive 2 none at all. muddle.

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

menteth

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
14x12
Number of Hives
Hello happy people. I am pretty new to this bee lark, and need some advice.
I have 2 hives. Nationals. Both fed for winter. De-mited. Supers off.

Inspection yesterday.
Hive 1 had lots of activity. a fair amount of brood (sealed and eggs and larvae). A fair amount of stores too. In fact it looks like a hive in early summer. Pollen pouring in. Drones about and more being reared. I should point out that they swarmed about 3weeks ago. (And the swarm did not make it). They've been fed lots too.

Hive 2 completely different. Hardly any brood at all. About 15 lonely sealed brood in middle. Thats all. All 12 frames in the brood chamber full of sealed stores. They have been hardly fed at all.

Which one should I be worried about? Why? And how to sort if there is a problem.

(For the life of me, I haven't been able to find a queen in either. Though suspect just missed them).

Thanks very much

Sounds as though you need to unite but find a bod in your local Association to advise as to whether you have a Q in either first. Drones this time of year is not good. They are not going to do their stuff this time of year and merely gorge on precious stores whilst they lounge about. Normally get chucked out for that reason.

Why are you inspecting in the second half of October?
Leave them alone until April. :)

hi there, only looking; for 2 reasons. firstly, the novice learning (about the cycles) thing. secondly, my bees swarmed at the beginning of october, and to me (though i am a beginner), this seemed odd behaviour for the beginning of winter. So i assumed, they may need help.

when do they finish making babies?

And are both my hives behaving strangely?

I have no idea of the cycle of things yet.
thanks