Hello from NI

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bill_J

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
None
Hello folks, New member here. Total newbie when it comes to beekeeping. Almost finished my local association's Beginners Beekeeping Course. Found it really interesting although I'm fully aware that, in the grand scheme of things, it's probably very basic stuff and there's a mountain of further information I need to get to grips with yet.

I've ordered, received and set up my hive (after much deliberation, went for National, Cedar, flat roof with 14 x 12 brood box): whether that's the right decision remains to be seen. Spent a small fortune on frames, foundation, suit and kit. Just need to get 6 numbers up in the lotto, or sell a kidney, before the wife works out how much that lot adds up to!

The next stage is trying to source the bees. I've taken advice from our course tutor and will be aiming for native Irish black bees. Might be just me but there seems to be a lack of beekeepers willing to sell a Nuc within a reasonable distance from me (but over 3 miles away obviously). Maybe I'm a bit early yet? Will keep looking though. Best of luck folks, Bill

:welcome:Welcome to the forum:welcome:

Usually the course tutors can source nucs....what have they said on the subject.?

To be fair to the tutor he did say he would try and get nucs for us but wasn't confident he could source enough (there's over 20 on the course).

Welcome Bill and good for you regarding native bees. You won't see early nucs unless headed by over wintered queens so in the mean time get some practical hands on experience at your association apiary or with a mentor.

Hi Bill and welcome! :D

You'll get plenty of help here it's great!

Welcome.

Cork is possibly a 8-10 hour round trip depending where Bill is from.