Frames

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RodBromiley

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
Will start spring 2015 with 2 Colonies
Hi, I'm looking to buy frames for my National hives. I obviously want quality frames preferably ready made up. Can anyone advise where to get quality frames at sensible prices. Also what type of frames are best, this will obviously open a debate. I'm new to beekeeping, not planning on getting bees till spring.:thanks:

Hi, I'm looking to buy frames for my National hives. I obviously want quality frames preferably ready made up. Can anyone advise where to get quality frames at sensible prices. Also what type of frames are best, this will obviously open a debate. I'm new to beekeeping, not planning on getting bees till spring.:thanks:

Can of worms. Frames usually don't come made up but they are not too difficult to put together when you get the hang of it! The best thing to do is look at a catalogue from someone like thorns.you can get Hoffman self spacing, but personally I don't like them as it is easy to kill bees. So I use the cheap ones. DN1 and then use plastic spacers.
The D stands for deep as in brood and the S stands for shallow as in super. The numbers donate the type of top bar or the style of frame. All I would suggest is that you buy a staple gun that fires small brads, it makes making frames so much easier. And always use the same style of frame. Ie if you start with hoffman then stick with hoffman.
If you search for frames you will find plenty of threads on the subject
Good luck
E

And I always use Hoffman self-spacers. Personal choice and as many opinions as there are frames. Th*rnes and the other makers often sell seconds which are a bit cheaper and fine. Can even get them off E*ay, I have and they have been fine.