DOH! Looking like Homer - First Year Beekeeper

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Snoozypaws3000

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
None
Number of Hives
Hi All,
This is my first year keeping bees after dreaming of doing so for many, many years.
I have a 6 acre smallholding in Essex and at the beginning of the year managed to get a huge pile of WBC outer hive parts for about £60 on eBay.
They were very old with paint peeling off and a few repairs necessary but had been stored for 30 years in a dry barn so were actually in pretty good nick.
There's enough for at least 6 hives [with lifts etc to take 2 supers on top of a brood box for each hive].
Bought all the boxes, frames etc new

They took ages to renovate but 4 of them are now looking spankingly gorgeous in the garden and are housing 2 nucs and 2 colonies that I got at the end of June/beginning of July from a nearby beekeeper.

I still need to get 2 roof tops, one base and two stands for the remaining two hives but will hopefully get this done soon so that I can maybe get two more hives going next year.

All 4 colonies are thriving and I am now feeling fairly confident about inspections etc [although have had more than one or two painful stings on the bonce courtesy of being way too curious and "just taking a quick look about without putting my hair back or my gear on" I know...serves me right] but my nervousness about hearing them roar like a box of little lions when disturbed has diminished and happily three of the four colonies seem to be very docile.