clumsiness making bees aggressive

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SteveHLD

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
Other
Number of Hives
This is my first year beekeeping. I have a MB Langstroth hive with medium plastic frames and use Marigold gloves and a fair amount of smoke. I find it very difficult to lift the heavier frames, it seems that my pincer grip is not strong enough. I have tried gripping the frame by the upper and outermost part of the frame next to the lug and this helps me pull the frame but it is very difficult to inspect. So I fumble and on several occasions I have dropped the frame back from whence it came. In early April this happened and the bees threatened anyone who came within about 10 metres of the hive. I left it alone and it swarmed a couple of times or more and that sorted the problem out! Today, a couple of frames were stuck to the roof and they crashed back as I lifted the lid (sure I should have been using an inner cover). The bees subsequently buzz me and follow me many metres away. Since this hive (came from one of the swarms and normally well tempered) is on my allotment I need to do something fast. Is there a quick fix? Would an artificial swarm give the foragers something else to worry about and nothing to defend? How can I become less clumsy? I will mount a vigil tomorrow to keep my allotment neighbours from harm.