Urban Bees Research - can you help?

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hive Type
None
I am a researcher at Royal Holloway, University of London investigating the effect of urbanisation on honeybees and am planning a large-scale experiment this summer using the honeybee waggle dance to compare foraging behaviour of urban and rural bees. To do this, we film bees in observation hives performing the waggle dance, which informs their nestmates about the locations of profitable flower patches. We later analyse the videos, decoding the dances to plot foraging locations of the bees on a map. The aims of the experiment are to identify important foraging hotspots in the urban environment, and to compare foraging in urban and rural locations.

We are looking for existing observation hives in London and the surrounding countryside (i.e. the counties around London) which we might be able to visit to film waggle dances. I wondered if anyone knows of any that are set up? This is likely to be museums, schools, attractions etc. I’d be grateful for any leads so that we can start contacting sites to see if they are interested in being involved in the experiment.

Thanks!

Hasn't it already been established there isn't enough forage for London bees.....How about the effect of all that pollution on hive and honey

We are looking for existing observation hives in London and the surrounding countryside (i.e. the counties around London) which we might be able to visit to film waggle dances. I wondered if anyone knows of any that are set up?

Observation hives are unlikely to survive the winter.