Thoughts about the new suit from STBK

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

powerbee

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
As a complete beginner, has anyone of experience got any advice on the pluses and minuses of the following 'professional' suit from Simonthebeekeeper.

https://www.simonthebeekeeper.co.uk...-wear-professional-khaki-suit.html#/46-size-l

To my uneducated eye it seems good value as has YKK zips, velcro AND elastic cuffs plus a 2 year guarantee.

Am I missing something or is it good value @£50? I have a limited budget so cannot afford a Sherriff or BBsuit. Advice would be very much appreciated.

I've got two small suits for the children they were 20 pounds each .
The vail seems to be quite strong ..I've noticed that the elastic that you put your thumb into has come of on the left cuff .
If I was buying again I would probably spend a bit more money on a suit .. you get what you pay for i suppose.
If you can stretch your funds I would get a better suit .. as it's hopefully going to last you for years not just a season or two.

I can't comment on the new STBK suit, but I can comment on their basic Buzz Wear white suit with a round veil.
I bought this last year, for under £30, when I started beekeeping. So far it's still going strong. The veil is still intact and isn't showing any signs of wear yet, and I've had no problems with any of the zips. It has more pockets than I can use, elasticated cuffs, and thumb loops. Gets filthy but comes up great with a machine wash with a bit of added washing soda.
So far, I haven't had a single sting (touch wood!), although I appreciate that's probably more to do with my bees!