Swarm lure to move an encamped swarm?

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Karen's Bees

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
14x12
Number of Hives
Hi everyone

This is my first posting.

I'm not very experienced so please forgive me if this is a numpty question.

The site caretaker at my place of work found a nest of bees. We're not sure how long they've been there but not long (long enough for them to be bringing in pollen though so queen now laying?)

They are inside a wall on a listed building so not much chance of pulling things apart to get them out.

So before he calls out Rentakill or someone else can I lure them out to a baited hive? I could do either standard national or 14x12 with some 'used' frames and some lemongrass oil. Which size would be best do you reckon? Or is it a 'no hope' now that they're bringing pollen in (ie ordered the carpets and hung their curtains).

Thanks for any advice.

Cheers
Karen

The 'not sure how long' likely means it is to late to do much at all. Doing a 'trap out' is likely the best way of recovering most of the bees. That entails allowing them out through a one way exit (a couple porter bee escapes?) and collecting them in a box attached, or very close, to the exit point.

Is there any possibility of them being left where they are? Are they causing a nuisance or making their way into the building?

:welcome:To the forum Karen.

You may wish to look at your gender profile to avoid confusion and responses that nobody on here would intentionally direct at a lady.