Some dead bees laden with pollen

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

greengumbo

House Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
Langstroth
Number of Hives
Had a wee look round the front of the hives after work today and noticed a handful of dead bees with pollen baskets full on the ground in front.

I'm only in my second year and last winter they were all tucked up by now so was curious about their fate.

It was a sunny and clear day up here today but it did get overcast at times. I recently reduced the hive entrances to a few bee spaces for wintering. My first guess is that they returned from foraging fully laden, the temperature happened to plunge as a cloud came over and due to the reduced entrance there was a bit of a que and some perished ?

Pretty sure it is Ivy pollen. Lots in flower just now.

I'm not worried about this hive or about this handful of bee deaths but just curious as to the forums thoughts.

Might not be dead.
Place an exhausted bee on your warm hand and it will come round.
Returned plenty to the hive this way.....well, a few :)

Yep, beekeeper leaving too small an entrance for the conditions, I would think. Just how much were your entrances reduced?

RAB

Might not be dead.
Place an exhausted bee on your warm hand and it will come round.
Returned plenty to the hive this way.....well, a few :)

Well funny you should say that as after I wrote that post I went out to collect some of them to look at the pollen. None there. I cant imagine they all underwent a lazarus effect but maybe.....I suspect a hedgehog.

Had half a dozen last night totally zonked on the landing board - probably just too knackerd to climb up the wall to the underfloor entrance and then it got colder - couple of minutes with a bit of warmth and they were fine