So then, mead...

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
I have about ten pounds of honey from cappings and suchlike. My son and I fancy having a go at making mead which I've never done before. I have Lalvin EC-1118 and D47 yeast that should be good to ferment to around 15-18% ABV and some generic yeast nutrient. I also have (literally) gallons of home-grown apple juice that could be used to make an experimental cyser, frozen raspberries and blackberries that might work for melomel and I think I should be able to fit demijohns into my honey warmer so I can use it as a temperature-controlled fermentation cabinet (I have one in the brewery, but it's full of beer at the moment). Other than that I'm largely ignorant of the dark arts of making mead and related products.

Anyone care to suggest good recipes to start with? (Ones that don't involve "Forget that. Spread it on toast and eat it" :D)

Are there other fruit that work well in a melomel?

James

Not much use to you, but I'm in a vaguely similar situation having been given https://smile.amazon.co.uk/dp/B093QG5VQF/ for Christmas. It came with a basic recipe but I'm interested to see what other options people have tried and tested, rather than picking random recipes off the web.

The closest I've ever got to brewing is Elderflower "champagne" so I've got a lot of learning and experimenting to do!