Inspection due; is it too cold?

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jaytee

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
Langstroth
Number of Hives
On inspection last Friday I found 6 queen cups spread throughout BB; I have brood on 9 frames, 1 full super almost completely capped and the 2nd super is half full but uncapped when I last looked. Inspection is due this weekend to prevent queen cells being drawn but the weather forecast for Kent is max temp of 11 degrees. I got my bees as a package in July last year so this is my first year of coping with possible swarming. My question is should I inspect at the weekend or not. I am keen to make another colony from my hive this year so want to catch them before they swarm. What would you do? Thanks for all answers.

"Inspection is due this weekend to prevent queen cells being drawn"

inspection won't prevent queen cells and swarming.

you have to have a plan in place for either pre-emptive swarm control or active management of impending swarming.

sounds like they need a second brood box. add it below the other (as finman suggests). could easily do this in poor conditions -
lift box and look for swarm cells on bottoms of frames. if present - you'll need to do some sort of AS. if not - transfer brood box off of floor, add new box with foundation, transfer box back.

Thanks for answer, sorry not very well explained.Yes I have a 2nd hive set up and ready to do an artificial swarm as soon as queen cells present. Last Friday there were queen cups but they were empty, do I need to check if the queen has laid in them since then? From what I understand once you see queen cups you need to check every 9 days without fail.

J

What precisely do you mean by queen cups?