Help me with my honey bee research

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

OxfordBees

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
None
Dear Beekeepers,

I am a researcher at Oxford University and I am hoping that you might be able to help me get started on a research project on honey bees. I would like to collect samples of honey bees and Varroa from across the UK to analyse their viral and bacterial content. I intend to look for the sequence of a specific set of microbes as I would like to know if they occur naturally in honey bees or Varroa. I would also like to assess the prevalence of certain honey bee viruses in UK populations. It is my hope that I could use this information to help formulate a simple (non-transgenic) strategy against honey bee viruses such as DWV.

I know it’s probably a bit late in the season to be asking this, but what I need is a sample of 8-10 honey bees (and 8-10 varroa if possible, but not essential) from a colony from each volunteer. The bees and Varroa would preferably be freshly killed to ensure the quality of the sample. I would send you some sample containers and a postage paid envelope for their return. I cannot offer any payment as I have no funding for this project but I would be very grateful for any samples received. It is my hope that the preliminary data I obtain, will assist in my applications for research funding for a sort of anti-viral treatment for honey bees. I want to emphasise that this is academic, not-for-profit research.

If you send me a private message with your name and address, I will send the sample containers out to you.

Please feel free to ask me any questions about this research.

You have my deepest appreciation,

Kirsty

Hi Kirsty,