Have you used Agreb plastic frames (from MB)?

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bescherman

New Bee
Reaction score
Apologies if this has been covered in depth already. The search function is broken (is it just me?) and I manually searched the first 10 pages of this area of the forum with no joy.

I'm very new to the hobby and don't have my own bees yet. In the mean time I'm researching what gear I would like to use. I'm very interested in the plastic frames, specifically the 3/4 Lanstroth (or Langstroth Medium Plastic Frame) as seen HERE and sold by MB HERE.

I know that this can be an emotive topic so I'd really like feedback from anyone who has actually used this brand of frame. I'm not interested in a debate on plastic vs wax foundation (or no foundation!), just first hand experience of using them.

I know that there are competitors out there and have read very patchy reviews of one of the pre-coated alternatives.

If you've used the Agreb (preferably medium) frames, how did you find them?
Specifically:
  • Did you coat as per the video on MB?
  • Did you use use solely plastic or mix with wax?
  • Did you use in both brood and supers
  • Did the bees draw the comb well?
  • Did you experience any warping of the plastic? (I know this can be a problem with the deeper frames)
  • Any issues with undue propolis or brace comb?
  • Any issues with spacing or handling?

Thanks in advance for any feedback.

Last edited:
ChrisB uses plastic frames - he'll be along shortly to give you the gen.
If I remember correctly you just melt some wax and add a thin coat to the plastic foundation with a small paint roller.

I know somebody who uses plastic frames in Langs from Southdown Bee Farm, not sure if they're the same make. They coated them with wax and haven't had any problems.