First week inspection- total beginner - after putting 6 frames into a new hive

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

daveyowen

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
None
Hello,

Moving the bees from the nuc to the hive went really well. Bees were calm, saw the queen and a few syrup changes later no problem. However, my first inspection (though regrettably first thing in the morning due to work demands during the day and rain forecast for the rest of the week) did not go as well as planned. Forget happy bunnies, they were not happy bees !

It is all looking very healthy, I couldn't see any queen cells, but all the activity seems as expected to be in the centre frames. My four frames have not been touched (6 frame nuc) at all and they are making comb that is attached to the queen excluder in the centre.

Do I definitely need to get the comb off the excluder ? I tried but bees were not very accommodating so put back the excluder as it was.

I have also moved one of my frames closer to the centre (by one frame).

Will the bees eventually move to the outside or do I have to keep moving frames ? I am worried about swarming as the central two frames have a huge amount of bees.

I am also wondering whether in a few weeks of adding another brood box or super. I am not bothered about a honey crop this year and have two other hives to fill, so wondered if I have time to move a queen whether current one or queen larvae with several frames to another hive. Can someone please advise ? Any help would be much appreciated.

Unfortunately, I could not get a mentor from MidBucks or Oxford to guide me so I little bit on my own, but have not been stung as yet ! :D

You need to stop and think before planning ahead. There is loads of time yet before thinking of splitting your hive and making increase.